The Premier Academy League is designed by and for private Academies based in and around Sydney.

There hasn't been scope for Academies to participate in a structured, season-long competition in the past. The Premier Academy League is a movement to satisfy the demand of the players, families, staff and coaches involved in private Academies for regular matches.

The nine founding Academies (listed below) participated in the inaugural season, with additional Academies joining soon.

  • Barça Academy Sydney

  • Brazilian Soccer Schools

  • Celtic White Tigers Academy

  • Futboltec

  • Futsal Institute

  • Illawarra Football Academy

  • Red Devils

  • Rose Football Academy

  • Sydney Victory


The Premier Academy League will operate year-round in three distinct seasons.

  • Pre-Season (February - April)

  • Winter Season (April - September)

  • Summer Season (October - December)

The length of the season will dictate the number of rounds and format of the competition.


The Competition Format will vary from season to season based on the response and feedback from each Academy.

Pre-Season 2019 Competition Format:

  • Age Groups: U8, U10, U12, U14

  • Divisions: two divisions per Age Group

  • Venues: each round hosted by a different Academy (“Gala Day” format with all teams playing at the same venue)

  • Rounds: Six (five round-robin days and one finals day)

  • Game Time: 25 minutes per match (two matches per Round per team)

  • Players Numbers: 7-a-side for all Age Groups